The New York Racing Association

Print this Page Bookmark and Share



About NYRA

Created more than 50 years ago so that New York State could share in the boom in racing that followed World War II, The New York Racing Association, Inc., holds the exclusive right to conduct racing at Aqueduct, Belmont Park, and Saratoga until 2033.

NYRA tracks are the cornerstone of the state’s thoroughbred business, which contributes more than $2 billion annually to New York State’s economy.

In 2013, average daily handle wagered on races at NYRA’s three racetracks increased 2.3 percent to $9,198,298, up from $8,990,691 in 2012. For the year, NYRA hosted 239 racing days, six fewer than in 2012, and fewer than any of the preceding four years.Total on-track handle on NYRA races in 2013 was $367,022,646, the second highest such total over the last five years. Wagering on NYRA races again accounted for more than 20 percent of all monies bet on thoroughbred racing in the U.S. According to Equibase, handle on all races in the United States rose 0.06 percent to $10.88 billion.

NYRA’s beginnings date back to 1955, when the Greater New York Association acquired the assets of the four racing associations operating Belmont, Jamaica, Saratoga and Aqueduct racetracks.

Within four years, the NYRA had demolished the old Aqueduct and in 1959 opened the modern Aqueduct. Jamaica Race Track was closed the same year. From 1963 through 1968, Belmont Park was shuttered as a new grandstand was built.

In 2011, Resorts World New York City Casino, operated by Genting New York, opened at Aqueduct Racetrack. Revenue from the casino is directed to help education in the state as well as ensure long-term stability for the racing industry. In 2012, at the direction of Governor Andrew Cuomo, a temporary, publicly controlled body was put in place to transform management of thoroughbred racing in New York. The NYRA Reorganization Board consists of 17 members: eight appointed by the Governor; two directors each appointed by the Senate and Assembly, and five directors appointed by the former NYRA Board.

Mission: Meeting the highest standards in thoroughbred racing and equine safety.

Mission: Meeting the highest standards in thoroughbred racing and equine safety.


  • David J. Skorton, Chairman
  • Anthony J. Bonomo
  • Michael J. Del Guidice
  • Michael Dubb
  • C. Steven Duncker
  • Bobby Flay
  • Marc Holliday
  • Stuart S. Janney, III
  • Earle Mack
  • Robert Megna
  • Barry Ostrager
  • Leonard Riggio
  • Joseph Spinelli
  • Stuart Subotnick
  • Vincent Tese
  • Charles V. Wait
  • John Hendrickson, Special Advisor
  • Michael Kotlikoff, Special Advisor
  • Chester F. Broman, ex-officio
  • Richard Violette, Jr., ex-officio


  • Christopher K. Kay, CEO and President
  • Joseph Lambert, Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary
  • Lynn LaRocca, Senior Vice President & Chief Experience Officer
  • Patrick Mahony, Senior Vice President of Pari-Mutuel Operations
  • Martin Panza, Senior Vice President of Racing Operations
  • Susanne Stover, Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
  • Glen Kozak, Vice President of Facilities & Racing Surfaces
  • David O’Rourke, Vice President, Chief Revenue Officer
  • Tom Thill, Vice President & Chief Information Officer
  • George C. Venlzelos, Vice President of Security
  • Stephen Travers, Senior Director, Hospitality & Guest Services
  • Pasquale Viscusi, J.D., LL.M., Assistant General Counsel / Records Access Appeals Officer 
  • Iris Roberts, Records Access Officer
  • Jelena Alonso, Controller
  • Ross Didia, Corporate Treasurer


  • Dan Eidson,  Racing Secretary
  • Sean S. Perl, Assistant Racing Secretary
  • Andrew Byrnes, Stakes Coordinator
  • Bruce Johnstone, Manager Racing Operations
  • Roy Robert Williamson, Starter
  • Dr. Anthony Verderosa, Chief Examining Veterinarian
  • Timothy D. Kelly, Clerk of Scales *
  • Edward F. Brown, Assistant Clerk of Scales
  • Peter T. FitzGerald, Paddock & Patrol Judge
  • Kelly Gecewicz, Michael J. Muzio, Matthew Salvato,
    Sentell Taylor, Jr., Ralph Theroux, Jr., Placing/Patrol Judges
  • Stephen Foster, Timer/Placing and Patrol
  • Denise Spampinato, Horsemen's Bookeeper
  • Janet Reid, Chief Horse Identifier
  • John Imbriale, Announcer
  • Carmen Barrera, Director, Horsemen's Relations
  • Kevin Quinn, Director of Sales
  • John Durso, Jr., Director of Media and Communications
  • Scott Finley, Director of Simulcasting
  • Rocco Fuda, Director of Pari-Mutuel Operations
  • Min Kim, Director of Internal Audit
  • Darran Miner, Director of Marketing
  • Dan Silver, Senior Director of Television
  • Rick Wickman, Stable Supervisor


  • Dr. W. Theodore Hill, The Jockey Club *
  • Stephen Lewandowski, New York State Gaming Commission *
  • Braulio Baeza, Jr., NYRA Steward*
  • Hugh J. Gallagher, Safety Steward*

*fully accredited


  • Mark D. Gearan, Chair
  • John A. Crotty, Commissioner
  • Peter J. Moschetti Jr., Commissioner
  • John Poklemba, Esq., Commissioner
  • Barry C. Sample, Commissioner
  • Todd R. Snyder, Commissioner
  • Robert Williams, Executive Director
  • Edmund C. Burns, General Counsel 
  • Dr. Scott E. Palmer, Equine Medical Director
NYRA is a member of the Thoroughbred Racing Associations and complies with its Code of Standards and By-Laws.
The New York Racing Association, Inc., is licensed by the N.Y. State Gaming Commission and operates under its Rules and Regulations.
The New York State Gaming Commission
One Broadway Center
PO Box 7500
Schenectady, NY 12301-7500
(518) 395-5400
Send Questions or Comments to: info@gaming.ny.gov