Stewards inquiry and a jockey’s objection from the rider of the second place finisher #6 Dogtown(Emmanuel Esquivel) against the first place finisher #3 Bene(Irad Ortiz Jr.) for alleged interference inside the 1/8 pole. #3 Bene drifts in and makes no contact with #6 Dogtown who briefly steadies. After reviewing the race video and speaking to the riders involved. In the judgement of the stewards this incident did not alter the finish of the race. The race is official as is. 18.104.22.168
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race. The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
For more information, see Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized")
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY