Stewards inquiry concerning the stretch run in the vicinity of the 1/16 pole as the second place finisher #5 Gauguin(Joel Rosario)shifts out making solid contact with the third place finisher #3 Rocketry(Dylan Davis) slowing his momentum and #3 Rocketry goes on miss second place by a short head After reviewing the video and speaking to riders involved, in the judgment of the Stewards this incident altered the finish of the race. #5 Gauguin is demoted from second and placed third.
The new order of finish is 184.108.40.206
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
For more information, see Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized
Steward inquiry into the start of the 9th race where the #4 Inside Straight (Angel Arroyo) refused to break from the gate. After reviewing the video the Stewards determined that the horse was not held or impeded therefore he caused his own problem and the race is official as is 3-1-6-8.
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY