Race 7 – Stewards inquiry in the 7th race concerning the #1 deep in stretch. The 1st place finisher #1 It Justhitthe Wire (Junior Alvarado) comes in making contact with #4 Shanghai Bonnie (Kendrick Carmouche) causing a chain reaction that slams #5 Two Dozen Roses (John Velasquez) into the rail just prior to the finish line. After viewing the race video and speaking to the riders involved the stewards determined that the interference warranted a disqualification and #1 It Justhitthe Wire was disqualified from 1st and placed 3rd behind #4 Shanghai Bonnie. Official order of finish 22.214.171.124
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY