Race 7 – Jockey objection by the 2nd place finisher #3 Out of Orbit (Manuel Franco) against the winner #4 Fair Regis (Irad Ortiz, Jr.) for alleged interference through the stretch. #3 Out of Orbit, who’s rider claimed foul came in twice soundly bumping the winner at the 16th pole and once again nearing the wire. After viewing the video and speaking to the jockey’s involved it was the determination of the stewards that the interference was caused by the protesting horse #3 Out of Orbit. Order of finish 22.214.171.124
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Scan here to talk with someone now about your gambling. Or call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY.