Race 10 - Stewards inquiry and jockeys objection from the #10 Mister Bobby (Dylan Davis) against the #11 Champagne Chills (Irad Ortiz Jr) for alleged interference in deep stretch. The #11 drifts out under a left handed crop and makes contact several times with the #10 a few strides before the wire then goes on to win by a nose. After reviewing the video and speaking to the riders involved the opinion of the Stewards the contact made did alter the final order of finish, therefore the #11 was disqualified from first and placed second behind the #10. The new order of finish is 10-11-5-15.
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY