Race #8 - Stewards inquiry and jockey’s objection by the 3rd place finisher #8 Ancient Secret (Irad Ortiz, Jr.) against the 2nd place finisher #7 Rocky Policy (Kendrick Carmouche) for alleged interference through the stretch. #8 Ancient Secret was making a run approaching the 1/16 pole when #7 Rocky Policy drifted out several paths in front of that horse without proper clearance causing her to steady sharply. After speaking to the riders involved and viewing available video it was determined by the stewards that the incident altered the order of finish and #7 Rocky Policy was disqualified from 2nd and placed 3rd. Official order of finish 188.8.131.52
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
For more information, see Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Scan here to talk with someone now about your gambling. Or call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY.