Stewards inquiry and a jockeys objection from the fourth place finisher #5 Driving Me Crazy(Irad Ortiz Jr.) against the first place finisher #2 No Hiding Place(Jose Ortiz)
For alleged interference at the 1/16 pole. #2 No Hiding Place reacting to a left handed crop drifts out in front of #5 Driving Me Crazy has to steady and stopping his momentum. #5 goes on to finish fourth beaten less the a head. After reviewing the video and speaking to riders involved this incident altered the finish of the race. #2 No Hiding Place is demoted from first and placed fourth. The new order is 184.108.40.206
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
For more information, see Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY