Headlines
Aug 30, 2018
News Image
Coglianese /NYRA Photo Photo

Cigar Mile Day anchors Aqueduct fall; G3 Long Island sees purse doubled

by NYRA Press Office



The 38-day fall meet at Aqueduct Racetrack will feature 12 graded stakes, highlighted by the Grade 1, $750,000 Cigar Mile Handicap. The meet, which starts Friday, November 2 and closes on New Year's Eve, will offer 35 total stakes worth $5.925 million.

Opening weekend will coincide with the Breeders' Cup, set for November 2-3, allowing horseplayers to follow the exciting action from Churchill Downs. Fans can watch and wager at Aqueduct, with live racing on Opening Day at the Big A featuring the Grade 3, $150,000 Tempted.

The stakes action continues on Breeders' Cup weekend with Aqueduct hosting the Grade 3, $150,000 Turnback the Alarm Handicap on November 3. The Grade 3, $200,000 Nashua for 2-year-olds on November 4 will follow on that Sunday.

The Grade 3, $200,000 Fall Highweight Handicap for sprinters 3-and-up will return as the traditional Thanksgiving Day centerpiece on November 22, with the $150,000 Winter Memories and the $100,000 Central Park also on the holiday card. Black Friday will feature four stakes, among them the Grade 3, $200,000 Comely.

This year, the Grade 3 Long Island on November 24 will see its purse double to $400,000, part of an overall purse increase of $600,000 for all stakes at the Aqueduct fall meet compared to 2017.

Aqueduct's fall meet will be anchored by the Cigar Mile for 3-year-olds and up on Saturday, December 1.

December 1 will also feature a pair of prestigious Grade 2 events for juveniles, the $250,000 Remsen and the $250,000 Demoiselle for fillies, both at 1 1/8 miles, as well as the Grade 3, $250,000 Go For Wand Handicap for fillies and mares at a mile.

Following the Christmas holiday, racing will return on Friday, December 28 and the stakes schedule will conclude on Monday, December 31, with the $100,000 Damon Runyon.

2018 Aqueduct Fall Meet stakes schedule:

DATE
RACE
GRADE
2018 PURSE
AGE
DISTANCE
Fri., Nov. 2
Tempted
III
150,000
F2YO
1 Mile
Sat., Nov. 3
Turnback the Alarm Hdcp.
III
150,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Sun., Nov. 4
Nashua
III
200,000
2YO
1 Mile
Sat., Nov. 10
Artie Schiller
 
150,000
3&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Sat., Nov. 10
Atlantic Beach
 
100,000
2YO
6 F (Turf)
Sun., Nov. 11
NYSS Staten Island
 
125,000
F&M 3&UP
7 Furlongs
Sun., Nov. 11
Stewart Manor
 
100,000
F2YO
6 F (Turf)
Sat., Nov. 17
Red Smith
III
200,000
3&UP
1 3/8 (Turf)
Sun., Nov. 18
NYSS Thunder Rumble
 
125,000
3&UP
7 Furlongs
Thurs., Nov. 22
Fall Highweight Handicap
III
200,000
3&UP
6 Furlongs
Thurs., Nov. 22
Winter Memories
 
150,000
F3YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Thurs., Nov. 22
Central Park
 
100,000
2YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Fri., Nov. 23
Comely
III
200,000
F3YO
1 1/8
Fri., Nov. 23
Gio Ponti
 
150,000
3YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Fri., Nov. 23
Forever Together
 
150,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/16 (Turf)
Fri., Nov. 23
Key Cents (NYB)
 
100,000
F2YO
6 Furlongs
Sat., Nov. 24
Long Island
III
400,000
F&M 3&UP
1 3/8 (Turf)
Sat., Nov. 24
Discovery
III
200,000
3YO
1 1/8
Sat., Nov. 24
Aqueduct Turf Sprint Championship
 
125,000
3&UP
6 F (Turf)
Sun., Nov. 25
Autumn Days
 
125,000
F&M 3&UP
6 F (Turf)
Sun., Nov. 25
Tepin
 
100,000
F2YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sun., Nov. 25
Notebook (NYB)
 
100,000
2YO
6 Furlongs
Sat., Dec. 1
Cigar Mile Handicap
I
750,000
3&UP
1 Mile
Sat., Dec. 1
Remsen
II
250,000
2YO
1 1/8
Sat., Dec. 1
Demoiselle
II
250,000
F2YO
1 1/8
Sat., Dec. 1
Go For Wand Handicap
III
250,000
F&M 3&UP
1 Mile
Aqueduct Winter Meet
 
 
 
 
 
Sat., Dec. 8
Garland of Roses
 
100,000
F&M 3&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Dec. 15
NYSS Fifth Avenue
 
150,000
F2YO
6 Furlongs
Sun., Dec. 16
NYSS Great White Way
 
150,000
2YO
6 Furlongs
Sat., Dec. 22
Queens County
 
125,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Sun., Dec. 23
Gravesend
 
100,000
3&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Dec. 29
East View (NYB)
 
100,000
F2YO
1 Mile
Sat., Dec. 29
Alex M. Robb (NYB)
 
100,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Sun., Dec. 30
Bay Ridge (NYB)
 
100,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Mon., Dec. 31
Damon Runyon (NYB)
 
100,000
2YO
1 Mile

All News Stakes Advance Stakes Recap Headlines Notes Features

More Headlines

New York Racing Association, New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association announce the return of the
Headlines
Aug 27, 2018
New York Racing Association, New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association announce the return of the 'Per Start Credit' program for 2018-19 Aqueduct winter meet

Pat McKenna/Andy Belifore

‚ÄčThe New York Racing Association, Inc. (NYRA) and the New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association (NYTHA) have announced the return of the "Per Start Credit" program for owners and trainers to further enhance horsemen participation and help offset the costs of workers' compensation during the 2018-19 winter meet at Aqueduct Racetrack.